Resetting Your Browser to Default Settings

Resetting your browser to its default state can often fix problems you're having. You might need to do this if apps or extensions you installed changed your settings or did other unwelcome things without your knowledge, or if you accidentally changed advanced settings on your own.

Google Chrome

When you reset your browser settings in Chrome, your saved bookmarks and passwords won't be cleared or changed.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click the triple dot icon (More), then Settings.

  1. At the very bottom of the Settings page, click Advanced to reveal additional settings. 
  2. Scroll down to the Reset section and click anywhere on the Reset button.

Read what resetting Chrome does. Note that resetting Chrome does not clear your bookmarks, history or saved passwords. Click Learn more if you want to see more details.

  1. Confirm by clicking Reset.

These steps won't provide a full reset. For example, some settings like fonts or accessibility won't be deleted. However, cookies and site data, like items in an online shopping cart, will be deleted. Also, any installed browser extensions and themes will be deleted.

Only the settings for the Chrome profile you're signed into will be reset. Your new settings will apply to all computers or devices where you’re signed in to your active profile.

Mozilla Firefox

When you refresh Firefox, it is restored to its default state while saving your essential information like bookmarks, passwords, and open tabs.

Note that add-ons and customizations will be removed.

  1. On your computer, open Firefox.
  2. At the top right, click on the Menu option ( New Fx Menu ), and select the Help Menu icon () located at the bottom of the page.

firefox_help_menu.png

  1. From the Help menu select the option Restart with Add-ons Disabled. Confirm that you want to Restart.

  1. You'll be asked if you would like to Start in Safe Mode or Refresh Firefox. Click on the Refresh Firefox option.

  1. Follow the onscreen procedure to restore your Firefox to its original settings.

Windows Internet Explorer

You can reset Internet Explorer settings to what they were when Internet Explorer was first installed on your PC. This can be useful for troubleshooting problems that may be caused by settings changed after installation. Resetting Internet Explorer isn't reversible, and all previous settings are lost after reset.

  1. Close all Internet Explorer windows. Select the Tools () button, and then select Internet Options.
  2. Select the Advanced tab, and then select Reset.
  3. In the Reset Internet Explorer Settings dialog box, select Reset.
  4. When Internet Explorer finishes applying default settings, select Close, and then select OK. Restart your PC to apply changes.

Windows Edge

Edge doesn't offer a reset option, but it does let you view, manage and delete browsing history and data. including information you’ve entered into forms, passwords, Cookies, Cache and the websites you’ve visited.

  1. On your computer, open Edge.
  2. At the top right, open the More actions menu by clicking on the triple horizontal dot icon (…) then click Settings
  3. At the bottom click Clear browsing Data and then click Choose what to clear.
  4. By default, browsing history, cookies, saved website data, and cached data files are checked, but you can choose from additional data options in the list. The Show more collapsed menu reveals other options to select.
  5. To reset the entire browser, check all options, then click Clear.

Apple Safari

Safari doesn't offer a quick reset option. Restoring Safari to its default settings is a multi-step process that can include removing history, clearing the cache, deleting cookies, disabling extensions and plugins, and more.

Select Clear History from the History menu.

Screen_Shot_2017-08-08_at_10.26.10_AM.png

Screen_Shot_2017-08-08_at_10.26.25_AM.png

Select to clear history for the last hour, today, today and yesterday, or all history by selecting a value from the Clear dropdown box. For more information about clearing browsing history in Safari, click the help button .

To clear a particular website instead, navigate to History | Show History,

safari_history_all_history.png

then select the website you want to clear and press Delete.

To delete all history, press Cmd-A to select everything, and then press Delete on your keyboard.

Clearing Your Browser Cache

When you clear your browser's cache, Safari forgets any websites it has stored and reloads each page you browse to.

Choose Safari | Preferences, and then Advanced. At the bottom of the Advanced dialog, check the option Show Develop menu in menu bar. Return to your browser window, select the Develop menu, and choose Empty Caches.

Deleting Cookies

 

Disabling or Deleting Extensions

You can either completely delete or just disable Safari extensions.

  1. Choose Safari | Preferences, and then click Extensions.
  2. Select all extensions.
  3. Click the Uninstall button.

Disallowing and Deleting Plugins

The easiest way to remove plugins is to just disable them. 

Choose Safari | Preferences, then click Security. Deselect the option Allow Plug-ins

Note that this will interfere with the functionality of websites that require a particular plugin. In this case, Safari will show a placeholder or ask you if you wish to install the plugin.

 

  

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk